New Combat Mechanics

Posted by barna10 
New Combat Mechanics
June 08, 2015 11:28AM
Since I started playing Marvel many moons ago, something has always bothered me: combat.
I can't stand how combat is handled without taking into account the target.
For instance, I firmly believe Spider Man would be harder to hit than Aunt May,
and a fighter like Captain America should be able to block without using up an action.
That being said, I like the simplicity of Marvel's combat mechanics.

Taking all of this into account, I wanted to figure out a dice mechanic that still
felt like Marvel yet accounted for the skill and ability of the target.

This is what I have come up with...

Instead of simply rolling on the Universal Table for success or failure, compare
the attacker's intensity versus the intensity of the defender's defense. This will
be different for each combatant. If Captain America has a choice he will defend
using his Fighting, Spider Man with his Agility, and Quicksilver using his speed.
This determines what color result is needed to hit using the normal Marvel feat rules
(below rank = Green, Equal = yellow, up to +1CS Higher = Red).

For Example:

Captain America (MN Fighting with Martial Arts cool smiley tries to hit Aunt May. She
decides to defend with her PR Agility. Cap needs a Green result to hit her.

He then decides to take on Silver Surfer. The Surfer decides to be graceful and
defend with his Agility (MN). MN vs MN = Yellow result.

Cap then takes on Thor and needs a Red result to make it through Thor's superior
defenses.

Now, you may be asking "But what about the actual effect of the attack, like Stuns
and slams?" To account for this, I've altered the Universal Table a bit (see the link).

Let's say Cap rolls a 36 in his epic battle with Aunt May. On the MN column, this is
a Green(Yellow) result. This means IF Cap hits, the effect of the attack is a Yellow result.

Against Silver Surfer he rolls a 51 which is a Yellow(Green) result. So IF he hits